DIVERSITY REQUIREMENT COMMITTEE

MINUTES

April 2006 (meeting by email)

I. MINUTES OF 3/24/06 DRC MEETING

DEFERRED NEW DIVERSITY REQUIREMENT COURSE SUBMISSION:

II. ANNENBERG SCHOOL FOR COMMUNICATION: COMMUNICATION

Req. by Thomas A. Hollihan Eff. Fall 2006

- A. COMM 324 INTERCULTURAL COMMUNICATION (4, Fa)
 Cultural variables and social psychological processes that influence intercultural interaction; relationship between communication and culture in diverse settings including business, medicine, and education.
- ➤ 1/20/06 DRC MEETING: DEFERRED TO COMMITTEE. The paper topics and exam questions contain more issues related to diversity than are represented in the syllabus. More detail is requested in the week-by-week breakdown of the syllabus in order to flesh out, for example, how intercultural differences have led to conflicts and misunderstandings.
- > 2/17/06 DRC MEETING: DEFERRED. No response from department.
- > 3/24/06 DRC MEETING: DEFERRED TO COMMITTEE by those present: A revised syllabus was provided for discussion. This syllabus was from a different faculty member than the one first received—someone who appeared to be an adjunct, so it is not clear if that person would teach the course again. The committee noted that the content seems to indirectly address issues of diversity, though there are very many subjects covered; and those members present were not completely convinced that it was satisfactory. In the second syllabus provided, none of the course objectives explicitly addressed diversity, although some readings and assignments were relevant. A statement that explicitly states which aspects of diversity are chosen, and readings and assignments that relate to the aspects of diversity identified in the statement, should be incorporated into the syllabus and it should be sent to the committee for their review.
- > APPROVED for one year. A revised syllabus was provided. Some concern was expressed that the course may not be consistently taught with an emphasis on diversity topics if it is always taught by adjunct faculty; thus, the one-year approval.

Members responding

Marjorie Becker Jo Ann Farver Frances M. Fitzgerald (support staff) Richard Fliegel (affiliated staff) Elaine Bell Kaplan (chair) Shane Lee (student) Joyce Richey Edwenna Werner (affiliated staff) Beverly Wood Lora Zane Bruce Zuckerman

Members not responding

Eugene Bickers (ex-officio)
Elizabeth Garrett (ex officio)
David Glasgow (ex-officio)
Kenneth Servis (ex-officio)
Kendall Simmonds
Peter Starr (ex-officio)

Elaine Bell Kaplan, chair	 Date	
Diversity Requirement Committee		